Chautauqua County Move to Phase 4 Reopening on June 30

Submitted by gallagha on Mon, 06/29/2020 - 14:29


MAYVILLE, N.Y.: -- New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo recently announced the Western New York Region will enter Phase 4 Reopening effective June 30, 2020.


The Western New York Region includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara Counties.


“This is great news for our region and Chautauqua County,” said PJ Wendel, Chautauqua County Executive. “This shows we have continued to do our part to limit the spread of the disease. I am hopeful that other industries that were not able to open would get the guidance to open safely and responsibly.”


In Phase 4 regions, indoor religious gatherings of up to 33 percent occupancy and social gatherings of up to 50 people are allowed.


In addition to the previously designated businesses, Phase 4 will allow the following businesses to reopen:


  • Higher Education such as community and junior colleges, universities, graduate and professional schools, medical schools, and technical schools;


  • Low-Risk Outdoor Arts and Entertainment such as outdoor zoos, botanical gardens, nature parks, grounds of historic sites and cultural institutions, outdoor museums, outdoor agritourism, and local agriculture demonstrations and exhibitions;


  • Low-Risk Indoor Arts and Entertainment such as indoor museums, historical sites, and aquariums; and


  • Film and Movie Production.


Before Phase 4 businesses reopen, they must complete New York State’s guidance documents available at

https://forward.ny.gov/. Guidance includes Summary Guidelines for employers and employees; Detailed Guidelines, which contain a business affirmation component; and a Business Safety Plan Template, which must be completed and posted at the premises.


Businesses who have any questions about the guidance and reopening can contact the County of Chautauqua Industrial Development Agency (CCIDA) at (716) 661-8900 or Empire State Development (ESD) at (716) 846-8200.


News Categories