Chautauqua County Moves to Phase 2 Reopening on June 2

Submitted by gallagha on Tue, 06/02/2020 - 12:33


MAYVILLE, N.Y.: -- During his press conference today, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that the Western New York Region has entered Phase 2 Reopening effective June 2, 2020.


The Western New York Region includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara Counties.


“I am excited that we have entered Phase 2 of Reopening,” said PJ Wendel, Chautauqua County Executive. “This gives small businesses the opportunities they need to get back on their feet. I urge everyone to support our local businesses as together we are CHQ Strong.”


In addition to the previously designated businesses, Phase 2 will allow the following businesses to reopen:


  • All office-based jobs (professional services, administrative support, and information technology);
  • Retail (in-store shopping; and rental, repair and cleaning);
  • Real estate services (building and property management; and leasing, rental and sales services);
  • Barbershops and hair salons (limited to hair services only with no massages, hair removal, facial and nail services), and
  • Motor vehicle leasing, rental and sales.


Before Phase 2 businesses reopen, they must complete New York State’s guidance documents available at

https://forward.ny.gov/. Guidance includes Summary Guidelines for employers and employees; Detailed Guidelines, which contain a business affirmation component; and a Business Safety Plan Template, which must be completed and posted at the premises.


Businesses who have any questions about the guidance and reopening can contact the County of Chautauqua Industrial Development Agency (CCIDA) at (716) 661-8900 or Empire State Development (ESD) at (716) 846-8200.




News Categories