Chautauqua County Moves to Phase 3 Reopening on June 16

Submitted by gallagha on Mon, 06/15/2020 - 13:02


MAYVILLE, N.Y.: -- During his press conference today, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced the Western New York Region will enter Phase 3 Reopening effective June 16, 2020. He also announced that any region in Phase 3 will be permitted to have gatherings of up to 25 people.


The Western New York Region includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara Counties.


“I am excited to announce we will move to Phase 3 tomorrow,” said PJ Wendel, Chautauqua County Executive. “Our responsible approach to reopening has proven effective, but we must remember that we are not completely clear so we still need to be cautious.”


In addition to the previously designated businesses, Phase 3 will allow the following businesses to reopen:


  • Indoor dining at restaurants and food services; and


  • Personal care services such as nail salons, UV and non-UV tanning, waxing, tattoo and piercing facilities, appearance enhancement practitioners, massage therapy, and spas.


Before Phase 3 businesses reopen, they must complete New York State’s guidance documents available at

https://forward.ny.gov/. Guidance includes Summary Guidelines for employers and employees; Detailed Guidelines, which contain a business affirmation component; and a Business Safety Plan Template, which must be completed and posted at the premises.


The Forward NY website also provides guidance for Child Care and Day Camp Programs that are able to open statewide on June 29.


Businesses who have any questions about the guidance and reopening can contact the County of Chautauqua Industrial Development Agency (CCIDA) at (716) 661-8900 or Empire State Development (ESD) at (716) 846-8200.




News Categories