Chautauqua County Legislature Organizational Meeting Monday, January 3, 2022, 4:00 p.m. "Live streamed on Social Media" Legislative Chambers, Mayville, New York

Clerk Tampio called the Organizational Meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and announced a quorum present. (Absent: Scudder, Gould, Lawton)

Moment of silence for John Y. Carlson by Legislator Whitford

Legislator Vanstrom delivered the prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance

Swearing in New Legislators By The Honorable Judge Cass

Nominations, Second and Roll Call Vote for Chairman of the Legislature

Clerk Tampio: Okay, next on the agenda is nominations for Chairman of the Legislature. We will now accept the nominations. Legislator Vanstrom?

Legislator Vanstrom: I would like nominate Pierre Chagnon.

Legislator Harmon: I would like to second that.

Clerk Tampio: Are there any other nominations? Are there any other nominations? Are there any other nominations? Hearing none, may I have a motion to close the nominations?

Legislator Whitford: Motion.

Clerk Tampio: Do I have a second?

Legislator Bankoski: Second.

Clerk Tampio: All those in favor say "aye". All those opposed? Carried.

Unanimously Carried to Close Nominations

Clerk Tampio: The nominee is Pierre Chagnon. When I call the roll for vote, please indicate your choice by stating the name of the nominee.

15 – Pierre Chagnon 3 – Absent 1 – Open Seat

Clerk Tampio: 15 yes votes, 3 absent and 1 open seat for Pierre Chagnon for Chairman. You have received a majority, the required majority of votes, I declare you to be the newly elected Chairman of the Chautauqua County Legislature for 2022. Congratulations.

Applause

ACCEPTANCE SPEECH BY CHAIRMAN

Chairman Chagnon: I am honored to continue in the position of Chairman of the Chautauqua County Legislature. In this role I will continue to do my very best to demonstrate servant leadership. As we begin a new year we welcome two wonderfully experienced legislators returning to us, Dave Wilfong and Marty Proctor. And we welcome two new legislators who we look forward to getting to know and working with, Susan Parker and Billy Torres. We welcome two legislators to the leadership team, Tom Harmon and Paul Whitford. And we welcome two new committee chairs, Jay Gould and Kevin Muldowney. We will certainly miss the excellent contributions of the four legislators who have now left us, Chuck Nazarro, Christine Starks, Bill Ward and Bob Whitney. All the people of Chautauqua County have been very well represented by these diligent public servants and we strive to continue to carry on good government in a constructive bipartisan manner. Thank you.

Applause

1st Privilege of the Floor

Clerk Tampio: Next is privilege of the floor Mr. Chairman.

Chairman Chagnon: Okay, that brings us to the privilege of the floor. Members of the public may comment on any subject relating to any local law, resolution or motion appearing on the agenda. Individual comments are limited to 3 minute and comments representing a group shall be limited to 5 minutes. Is there anyone wishing to address the first privilege of the floor? Anyone for the first privilege of the floor? Hearing none, we will continue.

Communications:

Clerk Tampio: Mr. Chairman and Legislature, there are Communications listed on the agenda this evening, are there any of which you'd like to have read aloud? If not, copies are available from the legislature office.

- 1. Letter Mark Odell, District 7 Change in Residency
- 2. Certificate to Fill Vacancy on County Legislature, District 7 Penhollow
- 3. Certificate of Acceptance to Fill Vacancy Penhollow

(REPUBLICAN) DESIGNATE NEWSPAPER

We, the undersigned members of the Chautauqua County Legislature, and representing the Republican party, one of the two principal parties into which the people of Chautauqua County are divided, do hereby designate for the year 2022 the POST JOURNAL as the Republican newspaper to publish the concurrent resolutions, election notices and official canvas, all pursuant to Section 214, paragraph 1, of the County Law. Signed: Chagnon, Vanstrom, Scudder, Muldowney, Hemmer, Niebel, Gould, Pavlock, Davis,

Signed: Chagnon, Vanstrom, Scudder, Muldowney, Hemmer, Niebel, Gould, Pavlock, Davis, Rankin, Lawton

(DEMOCRATIC) DESIGNATE NEWSPAPER

We, the undersigned members of the Chautauqua County Legislature, and representing the Democratic party, one of the two principal parties into which the people of Chautauqua County are divided, do hereby designate for the year 2022 the OBSERVER as the Democratic newspaper to publish the concurrent resolutions, election notices and official canvas, all pursuant to Section 214, paragraph 1, of the County Law. Signed: Bankoski, Whitford

APPOINTMENT OF MAJORITY LEADER AND ASSISTANT

We, the undersigned being the Republican members of the Chautauqua County Legislature hereby designate Legislator Thomas Harmon as the Leader of the Chautauqua County Legislature for the year 2022 in accordance with Local Law No. 6-1969 adopted on the 2nd day of January 1970. And appoint, as the Assistant Leader, Legislator Lisa Vanstrom Signed: Chagnon, Vanstrom, Scudder, Muldowney, Hemmer, Niebel, Gould, Pavlock, Davis, Rankin, Lawton

APPOINTMENT OF MINORITY LEADER AND ASSISTANT

We, the undersigned being the Democratic members of the Chautauqua County Legislature hereby designate Legislator Robert Bankoski as the Leader of the Chautauqua County Legislature for the year 2022 in accordance with Local Law No. 6-1969 adopted on the 2nd day of January 1970. And appoint, as the Assistant Leader, Legislator Paul Whitford Signed: Bankoski, Whitford

RESOLUTIONS:

Clerk Tampio: Now onto resolutions.

Legislator Harmon: Chairman, is it possible to have a 5-10 minutes caucus with the republicans?

Chairman Chagnon: Certainly, if you make a motion.

Legislator Harmon: I make a motion to caucus.

Legislator Whitford: I'll second that.

Chairman Chagnon: Okay, we have a motion to adjourn the legislature meeting for about 5 minutes for a caucus. Are there any discussion on the motion? Hearing none, all in favor please say "aye". Opposed? We are adjourned for caucus.

Caucus was held from 4:20 p.m. to 4:35 p.m. (Meeting resumed at 4:36 p.m.)

RES. NO. 1-22 Appointment of Johnathan R. Penhollow as Legislator from District 7, North East Town of Chautauqua, Towns of Stockton & Portland and Villages of Brocton & Cassadaga - UNANIMOUSLY ADOPTED

RES. NO. 2-22 Appointing Clerk of the Legislature – R/C Vote: 16 Yes; 3 Absent – **UNANIMOUSLY ADOPTED**

RES. NO. 3-22 Appointing Deputy Clerk/Secretary to the Legislature– R/C Vote: 14 Yes; 2 No; 3 Absent – ADOPTED w/ Legislators Niebel and Wilfong Voting "No"

RES. NO. 4-22 Confirm Appointment – Public Defender – R/C Vote: 16 Yes; 3 Absent – UNANIMOUSLY ADOPTED

RES. NO. 5-22 Designation of Official Newspapers – 2022- UNANIMOUSLY ADOPTED

RES. NO. 6-22 Delegate Authority to Chairman of Legislature to Correct Errors on Tax Rolls and to Provide Refunds and Credits of Taxes Pursuant to Section 554 and 556 of the Real Property Tax Law- UNANIMOUSLY ADOPTED

COMMENDATIONS:

KATHY K. TAMPIO CLERK OF THE CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY LEGISLATURE BY CHAIRMAN PIERRE E. CHAGNON AND COUNTY EXECTIVE PAUL M. WENDEL JR.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Due to recorder malfunction no audio available. No one chose to speak at this time. (Meeting available for viewing on Chautauqua County Facebook page)

2nd Privilege of the Floor

Due to recorder malfunction no audio available. No one chose to speak at this time. (Meeting available for viewing on Chautauqua County Facebook page)

MOVED by Legislator Bankoski, SECONDED by Legislator Wilfong and duly carried the meeting was adjourned. (4:47 p.m.)

Respectfully submitted and transcribed, Olivia L. Lee, Clerk of the Legislature/Kristi R. Zink, Deputy Clerk/Secretary to the Legislature