Roles and Responsibilities:

The Chautauqua County Board of Health promulgates, adopts, and publishes rules, regulations, orders and directives for the security of life and health in Chautauqua County.


  • 6 p.m.
  • Meets bi-monthly on the third Thursday of the month.
  • Fourth Floor Conference Room, Hall R. Clothier Building, 7 North Erie St. in Mayville.


The board is made up of 9 members that are appointed by the County Executive and subject to the approval of the County Legislature. Members serve a six-year term and current members include:

  • Thomas Erlandson, President
  • Roland Hewes
  • Dr. Tariq Khan
  • Dr. Lillian Vitanza Ney
  • Andrew O'Brien
  • Elisabeth Rankin
  • Natasha Souter
  • Dr, John Tallett
  • Mark Tarbrake