VIDEO: Chautauqua County Honors Workers' Memorial Day

Submitted by Justin Gould on Tue, 04/30/2024 - 13:12

FREWSBURG, NY – This Saturday, Chautauqua County will pay tribute to the men and women who have lost their lives while on the job in honor of Workers' Memorial Day: Remember the dead – Fight for the living.

The event will take place on Saturday, May 4, 2024, at 11:00 a.m. at Erlandson Overview Park, located at 465 Oak Hill Road in Frewsburg, NY.

This year's commemoration holds particular significance as the community gathers to honor the memory of those who went to work one day and did not return. The keynote speaker for the event will be Charles (Chuck) DeAngelo, a respected Jamestown Labor Lawyer and a steadfast friend of labor.

"We encourage everyone to attend and remember our co-workers and family members who have tragically lost their lives while serving their communities," said Chautauqua County Executive Paul M. Wendel Jr.

The Chautauqua County Workers Memorial Site stands as a solemn reminder of the sacrifices made by workers. Dedicated to "All" Chautauqua County workers who have been injured or killed on the job, the site includes the Workers Memorial Gazebo, a Memorial Monument, and a Brick Walkway bearing the names of those held dear in memory.

This project stands as a testament to the collaborative efforts of the Jamestown Area Central Labor Council, Dunkirk Area Central Labor Council, Chautauqua County Government, Chautauqua County Parks Commission, and the numerous sponsors who have generously contributed to this initiative and the Memorial Parkway.

During this year's ceremony, new plaques will be dedicated to honor the memory of members of the Chautauqua County Worker’s Memorial Committee who have recently passed away: Jack Rudy, one of the original Co-Chairs of the Committee, current members Doug Stock, a past Co-Chair of the committee, and Don Brisky.

Additionally, new bricks will be added to the memorial walkway, inscribed with the names of individuals whose lives were lost while in the line of duty. Among them are Jarvis Wilcox, Kenneth Schunk, Grace Green Wilcox, Norman Kohl, Jeanne Ann Humm, Thomas A. Heelas, James D. Lloyd, Patricia Ann Grasso Bova, Allen W. Chase, Town of Charlotte supervisor at the time of his passing, and Angelina Lamattina.

The ceremony promises to be a poignant occasion, as the community gathers to honor and remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of their fellow citizens.

All are welcome to attend and pay their respects. Those unable to attend the event in-person, can view a livestream on Chautauqua County’s YouTube page.


News Categories